“To days to come. All my love to long ago”

12087303_10206211248098459_6944711538075640088_o.jpg

On this last day of 2015, it seems only right to reflect on the year which brought me so much personal growth.

2015 dealt me a lot of blows, but it also provided me a lot of opportunities. In only my second year running Muddy Paw PR, and really the first year doing it full-time, we acquired over 30 new clients, several returning, and found them homes on many wonderful blogs and podcasts. But as cool as it is to think in numbers, I’m not sure my accomplishments this year can be measured in any way other than true self-reflection.

2015 was the year I started to find myself again. To understand who I am as an individual. Not who I am as someone’s girlfriend, or someone’s best friend, but who I am 100% on my own. And I won’t lie, it wasn’t always pretty. I spent four months traveling the US and Canada, which as amazing as it sounds, posed a lot of unexpected challenges. For weeks at a time I found myself completely alone— I was shocked at how lonely I felt. There were times I felt guilty for not being happier. This was the kind of thing people longed for. Here I was living so many people’s dreams, yet still unhappy.

But when I found myself at my breaking point, I also found out what I’m made of. Who I am at my core, and where I need to make changes and what matters most to me. I gained a new appreciation for family, and for my home, Boston. In this way, my struggles became my biggest asset.

With 2016, I’m going to grow myself, and my company to be stronger than ever. I’m going to develop the confidence needed to take things to the next level—whatever that may be, to take more risks and trust in my own gut instincts. We will begin to expand in a way that makes sense for the company and our clients, starting with Boston.

There is a beautiful quote in The Alchemist which attests that when you want something bad enough, the universe conspires in helping you achieve it. You just need to learn to trust yourself, see the omens, and follow your heart. I hope all of you follow your heart in the coming year and settle for nothing less than true happiness. I hope you go after your dreams with true ferocity, and that you learn to be happy with what you have. Here’s to a magical 2016.

Leave a Reply

